EASA Single Pilot Multi Engine Class Rating

Pilots holding a CAA or JAR/EASA FCL PPL(A), can add a Multi Engine Class rating to their existing licence. Exceptionally, you can obtain a Private Pilot licence with a Multi engine Class Rating from abinitio, but that would be unusual. Multi engine Aeroplanes generally carry more fuel and payload and can be used for all weather operations. Inevitably the fuel burn is higher, but there is added safety from 2 engines.

Course Requirements

An applicant for a first class or type rating on a single-pilot multi-engine aeroplane shall have completed at least 70 hours as PIC on aeroplanes, and shall complete the course within 6 months.

Course Progress

The theoretical ground training comprises a total of eight lectures on subjects associated with the operation of multi-engine aircraft. It provided the theoretical basis for the flight exercise and includes elements which are related to the type of aeroplane ( Seneca PA34) to be used for the rating:


F1 Introduction to Type 1.30
F2 General Handling and Circuit 1.30
F3 Introduction to Asymmetric Flight 1
F4 Critical and Safety Speeds 1.00
F5 Asymmetric Circuits 1.00
F6 Asymmetric Performance & Circuits 1.00
Total = 6 Hours
F7 Instrument Flying (Optional) 1
F8 Night Circuits (Optional) 1

Before completing flying training, including the long briefings, the candidates must satisfactorily complete an exam on systems, limitations, procedures and performance.

The flight training element for the Multi Engine Class Rating course consists of eight exercises, each of which includes a long briefing, a pre flight briefing and suggested flight profile. Actual flying includes a minimum of 7 hours of dual instruction including 3 ½ hours of asymmetric training. The syllabus automatically encompasses type conversion training for the aeroplane used on the course:


LB1 Aircraft Systems 1
LB2 Engine, Propeller and Fuel Systems 1
LB3 Principles of Multi-Engine flight 1
LB4 Minimum Control and Safety Speed 1
LB5 Effect of Engine Failure on Systems & Performance 1
LB6 Weight and Balance (Loading) and Passengers 1
LB7 Performance 1
LB8 Flight Planning 1

On successful completion of the training program, the candidate will undergo a final skill test with an approved flight examiner.

It must be stressed that 7 hours is an absolute minimum for a pilot with substantial complex single time. Generally 10 to 15 hours are required for a pilot more used to flying simple singles such as Cessna 172 or Piper PA28.

Privileges of the Multi Engine Class Rating

Holders of this rating can, with differences training fly multi engine aeroplanes upto 5700Kg providing they do not require a Type Rating. In practical terms if you gained your MEP Rating on a

Piper Seneca you would be able to fly most Piper twins ( non turbine and non jet) with familiarisation training and similarly for Cessna and similar twins. Significanat differences training could be expected before flying say an all glass panel Diamond Twin Star. In Europe all twin and single turbines are type rated, but a multi FAA licence allows you to fly upto a King C90 turbine twin.

Revalidation Requirements

The revalidation requirements are for a Proficiency check flight with an examiner every 12 months, plus a 15 min sector flight if necessary. This can be combined with an Instrument Rating check flight if appropriate.

In order to be able to carry passengers there is an additional recency requirement for 3 take off and landings every 90 days.


Assuming a 7 hour course and 1.5 hour test flight £2975 inc vat, excluding examiner fees and away landings